The UAE will host Expo 2020!
  • Arabic
Supported by the UAE National Media Council
We are in the process of developing and improving our website, and we invite you to participate in our brief survey to measure the level of your satisfaction
Satisfaction Survey For UAE Interact Website
رغبة منا بالتعرف على مستوى رضاكم عن موقعنا وبهدف تطويره وتحسينه، فقد قمنا بتصميم استبيان سريع لقياس مدى الرضا عن موقع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة روعي في تصميم الاستبيان أن يكون قصيرا وسريعا كي لا نطيل عليكم، وعليه نرجو منكم التكرم باستكماله عن طريق الرابط التالي
استبيان رضا المتعاملين عن موقع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

Previous champions to battle for title in Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championship

posted on 30/01/2015: 1740 views

At least four winners of the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships will be bidding to regain or retain their crown when play gets underway in the WTA Premier 5 event on 15th February.

Defending champion Venus Williams has lifted the trophy on no fewer than three occasions, first claiming the title in 2009. She returned the next year and swept to the title without dropping a set, defeating Victoria Azarenka in the final. Then last year she became the first wild card and first unseeded player in the history of the women's event to win the title.

In 2011, Caroline Wozniacki won the title by not giving up a set all week as she finished her run with victory over former French and US Open champion, Svetlana Kuznetsova. In 2012, the title went to Agnieszka Radwanska and in 2013 the title went to Petra Kvitova.

"The Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships has consistently attracted the very best players in the world, and it takes an enormous effort to overcome such a talented field and win the title," said Colm McLoughlin, Executive Vice Chairman of Dubai Duty Free, the tournament owners and organisers.

Tournament Director Salah Tahlak added, "All four champions will without doubt be very strong contenders for the title once again, but they face some formidable opposition in world number one Serena Williams and French Open and WTA Finals runner-up Simona Halep, as well as US and Australian Open semi-finalist, Ekaterina Makarova, recent Brisbane finalist, Ana Ivanovic and 2015 Sydney semi-finalist, Angelique Kerber. Competition will be very tough indeed." Play in the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships begins with the WTA event, which takes place between 15th and 21st February. Play then continues between 23rd and 28th February with the action-packed ATP tournament featuring Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Andy Murray and Tomas Berdych.

The Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships is held under the patronage of Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum. - Emirates News Agency, WAM -


10 January 2017 Andy Murray heads line-up for Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships 25th anniversary
29 December 2016 World tennis stars arrive in UAE for Mubadala World Tennis Championship
27 November 2016 Tennis Festival arrives at Zayed Sports City
18 July 2016 UAE to bank on the young brigade
21 February 2016 Sara Errani, an unexpected winner, wins with a flourish in a flash at unpredictable Dubai

Most Read